Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Hot Topics in Modern Operating Systems

Hot Topics in Modern Operating Systems
Typ: Seminar Links:
Lehrstuhl: Systemarchitektur
Semester: WS 2013/2014
Zeit:

Nach Vereinbarung

Dozent:

Prof. Dr. Frank Bellosa, Marius Hillenbrand

SWS: 2
ECTS: 3
LVNr.: 24346

Inhalt

Aus der Vorlesung Betriebssysteme im Bachelor-Studium kennen Sie die lange bekannten elementaren Konzepte und Mechanismen, die auch heutigen Betriebssystemen zu Grunde liegen, wie virtuelle Adressräume und die Trennung zwischen User- und Kernel-Mode. Das Seminar Hot Topics in Modern Operating Systems knüpft daran an und behandelt die neuesten Entwicklungen aus dem Bereich der Betriebssystem-Forschung.

Im Wintersemester 2013/2014 liegt der Schwerpunkt des Seminars darauf, ...

Jeder Seminarteilnehmer erhält ein Thema und erarbeitet dazu eine 8-seitige Ausarbeitung und einen kurzen Vortrag von 15 Minuten Länge. Die Benotung setzt sich zu gleichen Teilen aus den Bewertungen der Ausarbeitung, des Vortrags und der regen Teilnahme an den Diskussionen im Anschluss an die Vorträge im Seminar zusammen.

Organisation

Das erste Treffen wird am Mittwoch, den 30.10.2013 um 13:00 in Raum 148 in Gebäude 50.34 stattfinden. Dort werden wir die Themen verteilen sowie den Modus des Seminars festlegen (Blockseminar vs. Wöchentliches Seminar, Termin(e), etc.).

Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

Hot Topics in Modern Operating Systems

Hot Topics in Modern Operating Systems
Type: Seminar Links:
Chair: System Architecture Group
Semester: WT 2013/2014
Time:

According to Agreement

Lecturer:

Prof. Dr. Frank Bellosa, Marius Hillenbrand

SWS: 2
ECTS: 3
Lv-No.: 24346

Content

The operating system (OS) lecture in your Bachelor studies covers the essential principles and mechanisms that form the foundation of today’s operating systems. Most of these concepts have been known for decades, such as virtual memory or the separation between user and kernel mode. In the seminar Hot Topics in Modern Operating Systems we complement this foundation and discuss recent developments in OS research.

In the winter term 2013/2014, we focus on ...

For the seminar, you will prepare a report (8 pages) and a short talk (15 min) about a topic individually assigned to you. Your grade will be based on the quality of your report, the proficiency of your talk, and the liveliness of your participation in discussing the other talks.

Organization

We will meet for the first time on Wednesday, 30/10/2013, at 1pm in room 148, bldg. 50.34. There, we will discuss how (weekly or en bloc) and when to meet again for the seminar talks. Further, you will be assigned your seminar Topic.